Skip to the content


Ensuring that our pupils are safe and well is something that we take very seriously at Royal Wootton Bassett Academy. We recognise our legal duty under section 175/157 of the Education Act 2002 to work with other agencies to ensure that pupils are protected from harm and to promote their welfare. We regularly work with CAMHS, counsellors, the NHS, local Primary Schools and the Police to ensure pupil safety and wellness.

All staff at Royal Wootton Bassett Academy have been DBS checked, as are regular professional visitors to the school. As part of our responsibility to keep children safe, staff are regularly trained in safeguarding and to recognise the signs of pupils who need further attention to be kept from harm. School have a very clear set of protocols that are followed to ensure concerns are followed up correctly, involving Social Services, or other agencies where necessary.

You can read a copy of our Safeguarding Policy, or request one from the school office.

Should you have any concerns about our pupils, please contact our Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) either using the email addresses below or by calling the school reception on 01793 841900 making it clear that your message is for the Designated Safeguarding Lead.

Key Safeguarding Personnel

The key safeguarding responsibilities within each of the roles above are set out in Keeping Children Safe in Education (2016)

Role Name
Headteacher and Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) Mrs A Ellis
Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) Mrs M Roberts 
Deputy DSL  Mrs K Salmon
Deputy DSL  Mrs K Heaphy
Deputy DSL Head Of Year 7 Mr J Rendall
Deputy DSL Head Of Year  8 Mrs N Sutton
Deputy DSL Head Of Year  9  Mrs M Moore
Deputy DSL Head Of Year 10 Miss C Penman
Deputy DSL Head Of Year 11 Mr D Storey
Nominated Governor Emma-Jane Dyer
Chair of Governors Mrs O Thomas
Designated Teacher for Looked After Children (LAC) Mrs S McMullin